Skip to content

Trials and Tribulations

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Photo: Harper Collins

Can you believe it’s already been a decade since Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential was published? The wickedly funny tell-all gave people a peek into what goes on in a restaurant kitchen (generally sex, drugs and a lot of swearing). Now, Bourdain is back with a new book, Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook.’

Why did you decide to write this book?

AB: People kept coming up to me and telling me that they weren’t eating fish on Mondays because of Kitchen Confidential. It’s been ten years and I felt like I had to kind of update and correct the record and talk about how the business has changed and how my life has changed.

How has the business changed?
AB: It’s not a loser profession anymore. There’s a certain amount of prestige attached to it. A real future. It’s smarter, more professional, and cleaner. A lot of the stuff I talk about in Kitchen Confidential would be unacceptable in kitchens these days.

